Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE DVD STUDIO:HomeDVD Studio ForumDVD Studio TutorialsFinal Cut Studio

What format do I select for footage shot on a NIkon D5000?

COW Forums : Apple DVD Studio Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Sid WidmerWhat format do I select for footage shot on a NIkon D5000?
by on Apr 21, 2011 at 2:12:52 am

I am just learning FC Pro and am unsure what format to choose to configure FC to work with my video. Please help! And, thanks.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Michael GissingRe: What format do I select for footage shot on a NIkon D5000?
by on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:06:43 am

I think the Nikon is shooting H264 quicktime files. H264 should be converted to ProRes422 before editing and edited in a matching sequence.

Final Cut uses Log & Transfer for file based conversion but I don't think it can work with Nikon footage so you will need to use MPEGStreamclip or Compressor.

Canon made a plugin for Log & Transfer so the footage can be correctly converted with timecode and reel numbers. Have a look at Shane Ross's tutorial on capturing file based which is the best workflow. Until Nikon create a suitable plugin, you will need to work around the issue. Meanwhile, backup the full card structure becasue if Nikon do make a plugin, that will be required.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

David Roth WeissRe: What format do I select for footage shot on a NIkon D5000?
by on Apr 21, 2011 at 3:06:49 am