Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE DVD STUDIO:HomeDVD Studio ForumDVD Studio TutorialsFinal Cut Studio

HD/SD vs DVD Studio Pro.

COW Forums : Apple DVD Studio Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Safet SusicHD/SD vs DVD Studio Pro.
by on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:47:23 pm

HELP!

My good Creative Cow fellas...

I have a short video (20 minutes - telecine from 35mm), that was captured in 1920x1080 at 23.98fps Apple Pro Res 422. Really nice quality. :)

And now, I am in the process of exporting it using compressor and running it through DVD Studio Pro, and I have not been successful so far.

Question: What is the best quality that I can export it in (please be specific as I am new with the bitrates, muxing, and all the other for me new terms), and burn it on a DVD that eventually have a highest quality AND be able to run on a regular DVD player.

So far, I have exported it using HD DVD MPEG-2 as well as HD DVD H.264 60 minutes preset found in compressor. I created a HD project in DVD STUDIO PRO and under one of the option I chose HD DVD (not Blu Ray) and burned it on a regular DVD -. It played on my computer but not on a PC computer or a regular stand alone DVD Player. Basically, I want the best quality played right.

Thank you for your time, you make this industry move forward!!!
Best Regards!

Power Mac G5 Quad, 2.5GHz x 4, 8GB RAM, Final Cut Studio 2

Power Mac G5 Quad, 2.5GHz x 4, 8GB RAM, Final Cut Studio 2

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

eric pautschRe: HD/SD vs DVD Studio Pro.
by on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:07:16 pm

DVDSP authors HD DVD and regular DVD. Both are different formats. HD DVD will play in HD DVD players ONLY and in your mac only. I don't like using Compressor on 2 pass encodes. Use 1 pass at around 6.8-7 mb/s.

Return to posts index