Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE DVD STUDIO:HomeDVD Studio ForumDVD Studio TutorialsFinal Cut Studio

"Best" format for DVD's and archiving

COW Forums : Apple DVD Studio Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
mortimer heathcliff"Best" format for DVD's and archiving
by on Mar 2, 2006 at 9:04:58 pm

seems like there's lots of opinions here, so maybe this will turn into a poll. i've been using DVD SP4 for a few months now and really like it but have run into some bugs lately which are making me rethink my processes. out of FCP, i've been mostly using their canned codecs, mainly the "best-90min" one, but have also made my own higher res ones (7mbps avg, with 8.5 max), but always only us Dolby 2 (ac3) audio.

other guys are mentioning making self-contained QTs, or using Compressor with A-Pack...and now i read today that there might be bugs in Compressors' 2-pass codecs! hadn't heard that one before today, so maybe that's why i'm getting some corrupted files, which are causing SP4 to crash.

any thoughts? looking for ideas on best quality, "universal" playability, ease of archive, etc.

thanks for helping out a bonehead,

jtn

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Don GreeningRe: "Best" format for DVD's and archiving
by on Mar 3, 2006 at 7:22:37 pm

A Lot of people are using Compressor 2 using the same workflow they used with Compressor 1 and they've reported that the 2 pass VBR best ends up looking like crap. Nothing else they've tried to fix the problem has worked. So......it would seem that Compressor 2 works for some and not for others. It is indeed a mystery. The workaround for these folks is to use 1 pass CBR and they're apparently getting better encoding results.