Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE SHAKE:HomeShake ForumShake TutorialsApple Shake

Rotoscope dancer

COW Forums : Apple Shake

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
scott strimpleRotoscope dancer
by on Nov 22, 2006 at 12:10:34 pm

Been asked to remove a dancer from a scene "ala fred Astair" dancing with the vaccum cleaner. Anyone have any experience with this kind of thing that can offer some direction using Shake (or some other software) and the time involved for a 4minute scene.

Thanks

Scott

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Burt HazardRe: Rotoscope dancer
by on Nov 22, 2006 at 9:16:45 pm

The quick answer is it's not quick!

I have had some experience with the (now basically defunct) program Commotion using its Roto-Splines and for this kind of effect you basically need:

1) A clean plate of some sort of the background (that you probably can produce from your footage, but not always)
2) Plenty of time!

Mainly in the past I've done Roto-Spline and paint-on type of effects for just 5 or 10 second bits of footage, so you've gotta figure that for 4 minutes, you're talking 7200 (30 x 60 x 4) frames of NTSC video, 6000 (25 x 60 x 4) frames of PAL video, or 5760 (24 x 60 x 4) frames of film. Although I've just started getting into Shake, I think the RotoShape Node is similar in function to Commotion's Roto-Splines in that you create your basic rotoshapes around your people/objects, then tweak at various keyframe points and the splines will "tween"/morph between tweaks (to make your life easier). Then you still usually have to do some fine tuning frame by frame as well, of course.