Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
AJA:AJA io ForumAJA Kona ForumAJA Xena ForumAJA io TutorialsAJA Kona TutorialsAJA Xena TutorialsAJA

AJA Io Final Cut 5, Dropping Frames

COW Forums : AJA io

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
jus10caseAJA Io Final Cut 5, Dropping Frames
by on Jun 20, 2006 at 4:23:10 pm

OK here is the long and drawn out problem I am having.

I have a Dual G5 1.8, with 1.25GB of RAM. 80GB OS Drive, running OSX 10.3.9. AJA Io running the 2.1 driver (tried the 3 driver, but it seemed really flaky)

There is a 2nd SATA 200GB (ST3200822AS)internal drive that I have been capturing to for 8 months with no problem at SDI 10Bit Uncompressed from my digibeta deck. I pulled that 200GB drive and replaced it with a 500GB 7200 16MB Cache Segate (ST3500641AS). With the 500GB drive it immediatly started dropping frames on capture. So I benchmarked the drives and the 500GB was a MB or two slower than the 200GB so I bought another 500GB drive and Raid 0'd them together using the SwiftData 200 kit from transintl.com. This config tests out at about 90MB/sec read, and over 100MB/sec write, and still I get the dropped frames problem. Can anyone help? Please? I am starting to have to capture 128Min at a time and the 200GB drive just isn't large enough to hold it.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

marcrayRe: AJA Io Final Cut 5, Dropping Frames
by on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:28:02 pm

I too am having this same problem but with a macbook using an extermal sata enclosure with 2 drives. My system benchmarks at 120MB but still drops frames.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

jus10caseRe: AJA Io Final Cut 5, Dropping Frames
by on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:38:15 pm