Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
AUTODESK COMBUSTION:Autodesk Combustion ForumAutodesk Combustion TutorialsAutodesk CombustionAutodesk

HDV footage test

COW Forums : Autodesk Combustion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Le CoyoteHDV footage test
by on Oct 19, 2005 at 5:26:39 am

I spent some time tonight to try the HDV footage that was recently given on this forum. While this footage does show heavy chroma ccompression, it doesn't seem impossible to key with this footage.

You can see below a H.264 movie of the key I just did. There's some flickering pixel on the guy's shirt which I didn't fix yet, but overall the result is pretty much ok. More than I thought I would get, especialy since I have very little experience with keying.

http://junktape.com/HDV_greenscreen_key1.mov (requires QT7)
p.s.: the background I used is the first I found on my drive. Sorry about that ;-)

I did need to put some chroma blur, because otherwise, it would be very, very blocky due to the heavy compression of HDV (wich seems to me worst than DV). I used this method to do the chroma blur:

http://www.fxguide.com/fxtips-223.html

basicaly, this is a 2 pixel box blur linked to a Compound HSV set to the source footage in luminance so that only chroma gets blurred.

you can see my workspace there:
http://junktape.com/HDVgreen_test.cws
(this is a v3 workspace since there's STILL no v4 for mac...)

For the conversion of the m2t file I used "MPEG Steamclip" to create a 1440*1080 uncompressed 10bit quicktime movie. I also set the app to deinterlace the footage, since it does a reall great job at it. A few days ago I tried "Diva" to convert the m2t file, but I would advise against it since it screwed the field dominance.