Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Premiere Pro CS6 and Red with Intensity Pro?

COW Forums : Blackmagic Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Chris ConleePremiere Pro CS6 and Red with Intensity Pro?
by on Jul 7, 2012 at 12:19:37 am

Hello Everybody,

I'm primarily an Avid editor and have been using a Matrox MXO2 Mini Max since Media Composer 5 was released and have generally been very happy with it. Unfortunately, with the release of MC 6.x, the Matrox has become almost unusable when trimming with audio scrub enabled.

So today I bit the bullet and purchased an Intensity Pro card which other Avid editors have said is much better for trimming in Avid. Particularly with audio scrub enabled.

Indeed, the Intensity Pro seems to work a treat in Media Composer 6.0.1.1 and I was happy as a clam until about an hour ago...

That's when I jumped over to Premiere Pro CS6 and tried to work in a native 5k Red project that previously had been working smooth as butter with the Matrox box. Guess what? No video output whatsoever.

I was able, after MUCH fiddling around, to get video output if I created a 1080p timeline and copied my 5k sequence into it. However, this doesn't allow me to view my source side footage on my client monitor. Surely I'm just doing something wrong, right? I had no issues whatsoever with the Matrox Mini Max, it just worked no matter what I threw on the timeline in CS6 it appeared at the client monitor. AND I could view all my material from the source monitor as well.