Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Vegas 6 and Decklink working great!

COW Forums : Blackmagic Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Lance BachelderVegas 6 and Decklink working great!
by on Apr 23, 2005 at 5:54:48 pm

I have been running the Decklink Extreme and Vegas 6 for about 2 months now. Vegas 6 is software realtime like all previous versions, however, I'm getting way better realtime external previews via Decklink than firewire and all my projects are uncompressed NTSC avi's. The image via SDI is pristine. I am previewing via SDI to my edit monitor and component at the same time to the client monitor using the Extreme - all working perfectly. I highly recommend the Decklink boards to Vegas users.

For best realtime performance in Vegas everyone should be running at least a 2 drive Raid 0 array for media. 2 7200rpm SATA drives shows about 82MB sec. sustained using the Blackmagic drive tester. My 4 drive SATA Raid is showing up to 214MB sec. I'm using Seagate (VERY quiet) 300GB SATA's with a Promise controller card on a dual Xeon system.

Lance Bachelder
Southern California
Cow Forum Host- Magic Bullet

Lance Bachelder
Southern California

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

J SmithRe: Vegas 6 and Decklink working great!
by on Apr 23, 2005 at 7:39:51 pm

Are you aware that digitizing is not yet 100% frame accurate?

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Lance BachelderRe: Vegas 6 and Decklink working great!
by on Apr 23, 2005 at 11:30:13 pm

I'm working on an animated comedy series so we haven't had to capture or lay of to tape yet. We plan to render to the Blackmagic codec and go out to tape via the Blackmagic utility.

Lance Bachelder
Southern California