Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Launching into my video production company full time - some advice needed please

COW Forums : Corporate Video

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Olly LawerLaunching into my video production company full time - some advice needed please
by on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:16:03 pm

Hi,

I've been running a video production company for a couple of years on the side. All top of the range equipment (well it was :) - EX1, DV6, Letus Extreme etc etc. Had some great feedback. What i'm trying to say is that i'm not in the realms of 'shaky camera' poor quality amateur that I so often see under cutting my prices!

I've been made redundant and have until the 1st Dec until my 'day job' ends. I've always wanted to run my production company full time, but taking that leap from paid employment has not come easily. Now I am being pushed, its finally a reality. I would be lying if I said I wasn't scared but equally excited.

Main business - corporate productions, but I think i'm going to branch into Weddings to keep the money rolling in. I'm also going to expand into the area of renting a camera and providing editing services. I never thought that later business model would work, but I have been proved wrong!

Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated. What are the best ways to advertise? Where? How should I structure my day? Are there any tips I need to be thinking about now to save me a bunch of time in the edit?

I know these are really general questions, but any advice would be appreciated. I was only working on my business for 3-4 days a month before and all my work comes from recommendations.

Kind regards,

Olly Lawer

Return to posts index
Reply   Like