Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Pro HD Camcorder for beginner

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Mark CarterPro HD Camcorder for beginner
by on Jan 19, 2011 at 3:58:25 pm

I am looking for advice on equipment, I am just beginning and need to purchase two professional camcorders for shooting kids sporting events, skills videos and game footage. I have done lots of reading on various products but the more I read the more overwhelming this becomes with so many products.

I am looking to edit in Final Cut Pro, need HD quality video and at least 4 hours of continuous shooting. Ease of operation and learning curve would also be good.

Any direction on some parameters on what to be looking for or any camcorder recommendations would be great. We have budgeted up to $3500 per camcorder.

Thanks - my apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

Return to posts index
Reply   Like  

Mark SuszkoRe: Pro HD Camcorder for beginner
by on Jan 19, 2011 at 10:27:21 pm

You can scan a few of the similar threads a few lines down, this is a discussion that comes up often, and the answers tend to change as new products emerge.. If you're serious about an uninterrupted record duration of four or more hours, then that rules out all the tape-based camcorders in your price range. Some of the AVCHD -based camcorders can do several hours by recording to flash memory cards. Another method to get long record times is to strap on an external portable hard drive system like a Firestor, which can take a firewire output and record in parrellel to whatever is recording inside the camera, sometimes it can even record in a different format.