Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US
CREATIVE COW: Feedback ForumAbout UsStoreContact UsSupport Articles

checking on a website..is it for real?

Cow Forums : COWmunications feedback
cow
checking on a website..is it for real?
by Alan Brown on Jul 3, 2008 at 4:41:10 pm

Hi,

I hope this isn't an off topic message. I ran across a website called (ADMIN REMOVED LINK AND SITE NAME) . They claim they have OEM software for download at extremely low prices. It's the ole "if it sounds to good to be true" thing. Anyone here done business with these guys?

Thanks
Alan BRown

Respond to this post     Return to posts index

cow
Re: checking on a website..is it for real?
by Ron Lindeboom on Jul 3, 2008 at 4:53:47 pm


NO, they are NOT legitimate. Give them your credit card information and watch what happens next...

A lesson in live and learn will be your real purchase there.

Best regards,

Ron Lindeboom

Remember: Burt Bacharach lied. What the world really needs now is an undo button.



Respond to this post     Return to posts index

cow
Re: checking on a website..is it for real?
by Tim Wilson on Jul 4, 2008 at 10:27:12 am

That said, you really can get OEM software for a fraction of the price of the commercial versions. There are some serious drawbacks, chief among them that you can only install them on one motherboard EVER, and no upgrades EVER. In other words, if you ever need a major computer repair (including, for some companies, just changing a hard drive) or want the newest version, you might have been better off buying commercial.

Microsoft is among the companies who've acknowledged that they authorize and provide full support for OEM versions of Vista, with the restrictions above.

Also note, many of the sites like the one you found refer to software that simply isn't available in OEM versions. Stick with known vendors like Amazon (you can get OEM Vista there for example), and don't go with anyone who won't give you a physical disk.

Tim



Tim Wilson
Associate Director, CreativeCow.net
Associate Publisher, Creative Cow Magazine!


Respond to this post     Return to posts index


cow
Re: checking on a website..is it for real?
by Ron Lindeboom on Jul 4, 2008 at 11:56:37 am

And a final caveat to add to Tim's list, you can use http://www.dnsstuff.com to track where a server is actually located and how secure a server is, etc.

And cross-reference them with http://www.resellerratings.com to see if they are listed in infamy there. Many will be.

When shopping for discounted software, cover your bases as more often than not, it can be a burn. Not always but we have seen it far too often go that way.

Best regards,

Ron Lindeboom

Remember: Burt Bacharach lied. What the world really needs now is an undo button.



Respond to this post     Return to posts index

<< PREVIOUS THREAD   •   VIEW ALL THREADS   •   PRINT   •   NEXT THREAD >>


FORUMSLIBRARYPODCASTSBLOGSMAGAZINESERVICESNEWSLETTERSNEWSSTOREEVENTS

© CreativeCOW.net All rights are reserved.

[Top]