Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

NEWBIE! Upscaling/frame rate change 720p60 to 1080i50

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro

FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

Patrick FlemingNEWBIE! Upscaling/frame rate change 720p60 to 1080i50
by on May 8, 2011 at 12:06:44 am

I've been searching for a few weeks on this current problem, so I hope I'm not repeating anything here. I am very new to the whole broadcast video, so some of the answers I have seen may be applicable, but I'm too green to know. My apologies.

Here's my situation. Until this year, the company I work for was basically a grass-roots type live sports DVD producer (professional pool tournaments) - all SD video, live edited to BetaCam SP - direct to DVD (in Pinnacle no less!!). We are now providing content to ESPN in Asia... They accepted SD video transferred to DigiBeta the end of last year, but only want HD for the future. So, we purchased a NewTek Tricaster TCXD850 Live Digital Switcher/recorder (PC based). Works great, overall, for our purpose. With the amount of footage, now and in the future, it's cost prohibitive to bring it all to a production house to have it transferred, so we are doing it in-house.

Our latest footage that we need to send them ASAP (and it's over 24 hours of footage) is shot at 720p60. The Tricaster's native codec is mpeg2 (.mpg wrapper). There are two realistic options to export it as .mov's: photo jpeg and HDV - I figure taking the native is the best to work with - although audio is Muxed.

Our client needs the programming at one of two codecs (mov wrapper)
- XDCAM HD422 1080i50 (50Mb/s)