Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Re: A recap of the recaps

COW Forums : Apple FCPX or Not: The Debate

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

Jeremy GarchowRe: A recap of the recaps
by on Jun 29, 2012 at 3:49:51 am

[Neil Goodman] "i def do care.. I'm an editor, the more tools the better, and im not one of those guys hoping for it to fail..thats why i was asking, not to flame bait or whatever...not too mention i payed for it, so yea eventually id like to get my 300 bucks worth ;) I have a full time Avid gig, but i also do a ton of freelance, which is why i got into Final Cut in the first place. In the event someone asks me to cut on FCP-X you can bet I'm not gonna turn down the job if there paying my rate. Right now i feel like i can cut something in it, IF i had too, but not in the way that i typically cut, which is inevitably what i want. "

Yeah, it's different, and if it offers no advantage to you, maybe there's no reason to learn it as it might just be that goofy, I don't know, it's a personal preference.

There are some things that are completely missing. A good multitrack audio workflow is a big one for me, but they say it's coming. A viewer for matching is pretty big, but my guess is that it will be selectable (like the multicam viewer is now) and that will be good. Better trimming window feedback would help. It's already there, but only when you use a mouse. The trimming "two up" view does not work with keyboard trimming. There's a few things that aren't there, and there's definitely some things that are too simplistic at this point.

But.