Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Re: Apple Posts New Videos Comparing FCPX to Adobe & Avid

COW Forums : Apple FCPX or Not: The Debate

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

alex schwindtRe: Apple Posts New Videos Comparing FCPX to Adobe & Avid
by on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:54:44 pm

I'm actually with Peter on this. Apple should have released these videos on Day One. They do a much better job of communicating their vision for editing than anything that's come before. (and you have to give them some credit for lumping their own FCP 7 in with Avid and Premiere)

I've been a full-time filmmaker who's been using FCP for years. I'll be the first to admit that when FCP X was released I immediately got busy learning Premiere CS5.5. Adobe's really gotten it's act together with Premiere, and at this point I'm not sure I'd go back to FCP 7 even if it was re-released today. Premiere is just so much faster and more powerful.

Having said that, after spending a couple of days with FCP X I'm starting to get what Apple is thinking with this. A fellow filmmaker and I spent most of today messing around with it and we had a blast! We even purposely shot some "problem footage" with a DSLR just to see how FCP X would handle it. Again, we were impressed.