Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Re: MTV style edits and the Army

COW Forums : Art of the Edit

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

Tim KolbRe: MTV style edits and the Army
by on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:45:46 pm

Hmmm...

I'm late to this party, but I think there's a lot of value in the responses you have here...

To me "MTV" style cuts mean you have to show a drummer that is doing something that has nothing to do with what the drummer is doing in the song at that point...as a drummer myself, I have hair on the back of my neck that is permanently standing up from repeated exposure to this phenomenon.

:-)

(...and I'm obviously referring to music videos themselves, not the programs or news and interstitials that are done by MTV themselves.)

Anyway...back on point. The graphics are fine, but I think when you are presented with situations where you have to use stills, some movement is necessary. If you don't have multiple stills to sequence, you may need to be zooming or panning the still you show to keep things "in motion."

On-camera... This guy you have on-camera does a fine job, but there is only so much one can do to gesture and stay "active" looking for any given period of time. After he uses his arms for about the fourth or fifth time, it becomes distracting. Cutting away to full screen cover more often, even if it has to be a still in motion would give him a break from being on-camera and would also speed the pacing up.