Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US
SONY VEGAS: Sony Vegas TutorialsSony Vegas ForumArticlesBasics ForumBlack Magic Design ForumAJA Xena Forum

Re: vegas pro 8

Cow Forums : Sony Vegas
VIEW POSTS   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   SEARCH   •   CHANGE FORUM
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread


Re: vegas pro 8
by TJ McCormick on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:08:47 pm

I "bought" NewTek Lightwave 3d v9 for, get ready for this, ZERO DOLLARS! I received a brand new dongle, an unopened sealed box, and a license from NewTek, shipped for NO CHARGE! I've even received tech support and a new dongle after the old one failed. NewTek had a deal that lasted a few days through Academic Superstore (a US company), and the moment I saw it, I took them up on it. Totally legit.

I ended up buying Wedding Arsenal, at $295, so they still got their money from me, but if I didn't have Lightwave 3d, I never would have considered Arsenal (Lightwave 3d is not, shall we say, completely intuitive, so that marketing ploy was successful).

So, how much money will Adobe make on CS2 and CS3 sales now? Why not sell it as an "OEM" version? It does dip into their current version sales a little, but why wouldn't Adobe give people a taste of CS3, make a little back-end coin, and get them interested in CS4?

I have to assume that Microsoft, Adobe, and all the other software companies would have nuked this or any other OEM download website had it been trying to sell pirate software. If the website has been on for close to a year, then it should be no problem for MS/Adobe/etc. to have shut this thing down. soft-low.net even uses corporate logos, so I assume they have the blessing (or at least the tolerance) of the manufacturers to sell the downloads.

Now, back to soft-low.net

Just completed a search for soft-low.net scam, and I couldn't find a smoking gun. Very little chatter either way on this website. One disgruntled customer, but I don't think he knew how to make a .ico image CD disc.

This one got my attention, however; when I went to the checkout, my browser didn't like the certificate of the https website. I won't drop my personal info onto the soft-low.net website, and I wouldn't recommend anyone trying soft-low.net for purchasing software.

The soft-low.net website doesn't have a valid certificate for its checkout, so I wouldn't use this company -- however, if I need some software, I wouldn't hesitate to save some money and use an older, legit version from a reputable OEM download website (unless "reputable oem-download-site" is an oxymoron).

www.vegasEVENTvideo.com

TJ McCormick
Z1U Owner-Operator
Vegas Event Video Productions


Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread


Current Message Thread:


Related Threads:
Camstudio and Vegas Studio 9-Im Really Bummed :(   |   Vegas Pro 9 Capture Thumbnails   |   Sony Vegas Script   |   HVX200/.mov/Vegas 9 headache!   |   vegas sound   |   Vegas 9.0c rendering quality and capturing isues.   |   Rendering stops and freezes Vegas at one hour?   |   Cannot drag audio files to timeline in Sony Vegas Pro 8   |   Sony Vegas Rendering Problem   |   FX Packages for Vegas



Note: If you are a registered user please click here to login before posting.

Your post will not be accepted if your name and email address are not registered in our database. Click here if you do not have an account.

Name
E-Mail Address
Subject
E-Mail me when someone responds
Just This Message   Entire Thread   None  

Message:



Note: The following are HTML characters and may cause parts of your post to disappear if not used correctly: < > &
To include any portion of the post in your response, highlight the desired text and hit the "Q" key. Read more...



Add your message signature


 


Note: By clicking "Post Direct" button above, you are agreeing to the Creative Cow's Code of Conduct.



FORUMSTUTORIALSMAGAZINETRAININGVIDEOS - REELSPODCASTSEVENTSSERVICESNEWSLETTERNEWSBLOGS

© CreativeCOW.net All rights are reserved.

[Top]