Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS:HomeForumBasicsExpressionsTutorialsPodcastsAE TechniquesCreative Cloud DebateFAQ

After Effects vs Sony Vegas 8: main differences?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

cow
KenCalhounAfter Effects vs Sony Vegas 8: main differences?
by on Sep 25, 2007 at 11:10:32 pm

Hi, sorry if this is a new-type question, as I'm new to AE.. but maybe one of you who has experience w/NLEs And AE, can help with it...

This may sound like an odd question, but as a longtime fulltime Vegas editor, I'm looking to expand my skills, and thought I'd look into learning Adobe After effects, for special effects and other enhanced skills.

Here I am, having bought most of the AE books and "gone deep" into it... but for the most part, I see very little that I would ever need to do in AE, that I can't already do in Vegas, using the many tools in Vegas, like pan/crop, the keyframing for adding effects, and effects plugins etc..

So my question is, I guess for those who are experienced in Both apps, what can AE do a better job of, than V8, that I should focus on? Because for the life of me, I have yet to see anything that AE can do that I can't already do in Vegas...

(and I've watched hours of video tutorials, from good sites like totaltraining and lynda.com etc, and read a dozen books/done tutorials...)...

What am I missing? Seems Vegas can do all the stuff AE can do, with very few exceptions... (eg AE seems like you manipulate stuff on the comp window, with a lot of little tweaks, where with Vegas we work w/imported objects on the big timeline, so a different frame of where we focus our energy on, is about it)..