Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
BUSINESS AND MARKETING:Business and Marketing ForumBusiness and Marketing ArticlesBusiness and Marketing Podcasts

Freelance Editing + non competition agreement

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Share on Facebook
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

lisa sermanFreelance Editing + non competition agreement
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 4:04:24 am

I am a freelance editor. Recently a producer (and friend) hired me to edit an hour long documentary for PBS. She was hired by PBS to be the director of editing and I the editor. Towards the middle to end of the project, the PBS executive producer felt that it was necessary to communicate directly with me so that her ideas would only be interpreted by one person (me) instead of a middle-man (my friend + producer). (It's like playing that telephone game when your a kid... ideas get distorted when you have to go through people to get to the end result)

The exec producer of PBS has never worked with freelancers before, but due to severe budget cuts, she hired my boss to oversee the editing; my boss hired me to do the actual editing. The exec. producer of PBS was not aware of what a pain it would be to have to go through a middle man to communicate her ideas.