Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
AJA:AJA io ForumAJA Kona ForumAJA Xena ForumAJA io TutorialsAJA Kona TutorialsAJA Xena TutorialsAJA

Capture problem HELP!!

COW Forums : AJA Kona

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
AlexCapture problem HELP!!
by on Apr 14, 2003 at 4:57:58 pm

I installed the new Blackmagic drivers for the Kona card recently, and have not been able to get the system running normally ever since. I am pretty new to this, so maybe I did something wrong, but I followed all of the installation instructions very carefully (twice), trashed the prefs, etc. and there is still a problem.

Here is the problem, when I try to capture, the log and capture opens with a black screen saying "no video input", but the VTR is OK. I play the footage, and it runs fine on the external monitor. When I capture the clip, the first frame is captured in freeze-frame, and the sound runs fine. During capture, everything appears fine on the external monitor. Also, while I was testing, the capture now seemed to work fine, only the batch and clip capture don't seem to run as they should.

Here are my system specs:
Dual 800GHz Quicksilver, 640MB RAM, 4 x Western Digital 120GB 7200RPM IDE drives internally on Sonnet Tempo RAID133 PCI IDE adaptor, OS 10.2.4, Final Cut Pro 3.0.4, KONA SD, ATI Radeon 7000 for Mac, DaMax+ converting DV to SDI.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Alex

Return to posts index

Grant PettyRe: Capture problem HELP!!
by on Apr 15, 2003 at 6:52:09 am

Hi,

Sounds strange. Can you try capture to the internal disk, perhaps with JPEG? Capture problems are normally disk related, and doing some short captures to the internal disk is a good way to eliminate the disk array from the cause of the problem.

Regards,

Grant
Blackmagic Design