Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MOTION GRAPHICS:Motion Graphics ForumMotion Graphics TutorialsAfter EffectsApple MotionBoris FXProfessionals

NTSC Safe Colors

COW Forums : Broadcast Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
TVDUDENTSC Safe Colors
by on Jan 29, 2002 at 5:56:56 pm

Hi folks, I've got a query to be addressed and i'm hoping this is the right place to do so. I'm a designer working in the broadcast world and i'm also teaching a class in the basics of photoshop. To my frustration I was unable to locate an adequate resource of information regarding "NTSC Safe Colors". What I'm in need of is a good source where I can find and definition of, and also a list or an approach to/of designing and using color within the range of "safe colors". All help and suggestions are very welcome. Thanx
TVDUDE

Return to posts index

ToddRe: NTSC Safe Colors
by on Jan 29, 2002 at 8:07:35 pm

SMPTE has books on the specific definitions of the NTSC 601 standard.
As far as a practical way to design in YUV space within Photoshop - there isn't one. The closest you can come is to have a studio monitor hooked up via Digital Voodoo or Echo Fire along with a waveform and vectorscope.

Return to posts index

Neil PrattRe: NTSC Safe Colors
by on Jan 30, 2002 at 12:23:21 am

There is supposedly a Waveform that can be used with After Effects and possibly Photoshop.
It was developed by the same fellow that came up with the Layer Splitter. I don't know his
URL offhand.
As far as legal colors most AE people get by using the broadcast plug in in AE.

Return to posts index

Rick GerardRe: It's Scopo Gigo for NTSC (or Pal) Safe Color
by on Jan 30, 2002 at 5:57:22 am

Scopo Gigo....

Look here for more info. This is a great plugin. I'll be using it when I speak at: