Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
MOTION GRAPHICS:Motion Graphics ForumMotion Graphics TutorialsAfter EffectsApple MotionBoris FXProfessionals

Quitting Advice.

COW Forums : Broadcast Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
echoQuitting Advice.
by on Sep 3, 2002 at 10:19:54 pm

Hi All,

So I'm a recent design graduate that has had a job at a post production house for a little while now. The problem is, this place isn't centered on design at all, it's mainly an editing house and design is at very best an after thought. The time they book on design is ridiculous for what they want - resulting in very poor design. Basically, I make crap here...really crappy stuff. I don't like my art directors taste, it's really just not 'me'. I knew when I was getting into this job there would be the odd project that didn't tickle my fancy - but I didn't expect every project would be a soul crushing job. If I was freelancing, I could turn down crappy jobs, but I'm on salary and the city I'm in is very small - so the market is tiny. Am I just the rebellious youth that should sit down and work away and build up a crappy demo reel? Or should I leave and risk the world of freelance broadcast design? Have any of you professionals had my experience? Is this just not the field of work for me? Throw me a bone guys...thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

grinnerRe: Quitting Advice.
by on Sep 4, 2002 at 12:47:52 am

The small city your in makes me wonder how much freelancing is going on there.
Being stuck in a dead end gig blows. Not being able to pay the rent blows a bit more. Put some feelers out, build a non-crappy reel, and make a move based on the response you get.
Don't rely on them to provide you with good reel elements. Make your own.

grin

Return to posts index