Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Camera Purchase Advice..XL2, GL2, FX1, Z1U, DVX100A?

COW Forums : Sony DV

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
MichaelCamera Purchase Advice..XL2, GL2, FX1, Z1U, DVX100A?
by on Mar 21, 2005 at 6:11:43 am

Hi there I am new to Videography entirely & new to this forum, wondering if I could get some advise...

I am starting to do wedding videography and am looking to buy 3+ cameras and accessories in the next week or so, I also plan to start an INDE film on the side in the future. I have been looking at the XL2 very closley and do like the look and feel of the camera, and the fact that I can use my Canon Photographic lenses is a plus. However there are so many choices right now, a friend has the Sony FX1 HD cam and swears by its results, but I looked at it at fry's and it just feels like a toy compared to the XL2; is the Z1U any different? Am I being pursuaded by the HD hype with Sony? Another freind has the Panasonic Dvx100a and does proffesional footage with it?

My wife is also going to use a camera, and she is quite petite so I was wondering if I did go with the XL2, would it be ok for her to use the GL2? How would the final footage look?

(Another question for anyone doing weddings - what type of equipment to buy suitable for the occation? eg. lights? Stabilizers? lenses/filters etc...?)

FYI - Using Macs (g4's); Final Cut Pro HD; DVD Studio Pro; Shake; Adobe After Effects 6

I know its a handful of a question, thanks!

Return to posts index

Michael MunkittrickRe: Camera Purchase Advice..XL2, GL2, FX1, Z1U, DVX100A?
by on Mar 21, 2005 at 6:39:10 am