Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Sony product or perhaps the Canon XL1

COW Forums : Sony DV

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
graham laneSony product or perhaps the Canon XL1
by on May 10, 2001 at 12:14:42 am

I am not a pro, just a hobbiest with a very tight budget, however a friend of mine is setting up to do some "film" making oand he has a thicker wallet. he has gotten his heart set on a Canon XL-1. I would like to hear your opinions as to wheather this is a desceent camera for doing studio work with occasional outdoor work. He would listen to reason if I told him he would be better off with a Sony 3 chip PD150, or even the little PD100A.
There isn't a Canon Forum so I thought I would throw it in here.

Let's say his camera budget is in the range of the XL1 and that he would not mind going cheaper.

Definatly DV, and maybe DVcam if the camera wasnt out of range cost wise.

Thanks, Graham

Return to posts index

graham laneRe: Sony product or perhaps the Canon XL1
by on May 10, 2001 at 12:16:31 am

Forgot to add that Firewire is the capture solution. And if DVcam came into the picture I am thinking that the editing system is going to have to mive into SCSI to handle the data rate. Am I right?
Thanks again

Return to posts index

Michael MunkittrickRe: Sony product or perhaps the Canon XL1
by on May 10, 2001 at 12:30:16 am

We actually use a single 7,200 rpm ATA66 drive to capture DVCam with no trouble at all.