Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
FORUMS:listlist (w/ descriptions)archivetagssearchhall of famerecent posts

Differences in editing for TV/film etc.

COW Forums : Art of the Edit

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
MLDifferences in editing for TV/film etc.
by on May 6, 2003 at 2:31:38 pm

I've been in the TV production/promotions business since '96. And I've learned alot in that time. Probably the thing I learned the most is that editing is my strongest skill. And now I am thinking of getting out of TV promotions (I've been a promotions producer for about 5 years or so now) and trying to move into strictly editing. And I've got plenty of time to make a decision and make the transistion.

What can you wonderful folks tell me about strictly editing? How much different is editing :30 second spots from a 30 minute short, especially in terms of editing on a computer? How different is the pay/benefits? Suggestions on making the transistion? How can I get a post house to hire me to edit longer-form stuff based on my work which is at most :30 seconds spots? Inquiring minds want to know... Thanks in advance for your advice/stories/help/input/etc.

Return to posts index

Charlie KingRe: Differences in editing for TV/film etc.
by on May 6, 2003 at 10:41:24 pm