Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
BUSINESS AND MARKETING:Business and Marketing ForumBusiness and Marketing ArticlesBusiness and Marketing Podcasts

Music Libraries

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Greg BallMusic Libraries
by on Jul 29, 2002 at 6:14:18 pm

How do you folks provide music on your productions? As I'm just starting out on my own, I'm looking for options a adding needledrops to shows, without having to buy a music library. My hope is to find one that I can download music off of the net to use. Hopefully one that allows me to get client approval before I spend the cash. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Return to posts index

Ron LindeboomRe: Music Libraries
by on Jul 29, 2002 at 6:49:28 pm

The most cost-effective and easy to use solution that I know of is SmartSound which you can learn about at smartsound.com

It's royalty free but you do have to buy the libraries.

You may want to do a Google.com search to see if there are any free production music sites. I have never heard of any but I don't doubt that they are there. I have seen composers willing to give their rights to small producers just to see/hear their work used. But be careful that it is not a site stealing others work and giving it away or you could find yourself in some deep doo doo.

The best always,

Ron Lindeboom

Return to posts index

Greg BallRe: Music Libraries
by on Jul 29, 2002 at 7:53:49 pm

Thanks Ron,
Perhaps I didn't express myself clearly. I'm used to owning libraries as part of a corporate in-house department, now as I go out on my own, I'm looking for resources where I can sample music cuts on line, pick what I'd like to use in a show, and pay for that cut, without having to purchase a library for $3,000.