Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
WEB:Web Design Forum- TutorialsDreamweaver Forum- TutorialsFlash Forum- TutorialsWeb Streaming

Replace flash anim with standard text when complete?

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Andrew CooperReplace flash anim with standard text when complete?
by on Mar 18, 2002 at 10:44:01 pm

Hi

I've created a flash anim which sits in a table cell. Once the flash has finished, I want standard html text to replace it in the table cell. Sounds straightforward, but unfortunately I'm new to web authoring!

A friend suggested starting a javascript timer when the flash loads and then making the div layer visible when the timer reaches 4 seconds (the duration of the animation). Is this a good solution and how do I actually do it?

Thanks in advance for any help

Andy

Return to posts index

Daniel WattsRe: Replace flash anim with standard text when complete?
by on Mar 19, 2002 at 2:24:35 am

That is a good solution, if that is how long it actually DOES take the animation to load, then play, and finish. You have to remember that not all computers are the same, and that some are more dominent than others. Of course for college kids on their T1, it would be perfect. But for most of the population not in college, it most likely won't work.

This may sound like a long winded approach, and Curtis will more than likely come and put me to shame =] but...

Why not use a php function? (if you have the capability).